Coverart for item
The Resource The other side of the world, Stephanie Bishop

The other side of the world, Stephanie Bishop

Label
The other side of the world
Title
The other side of the world
Statement of responsibility
Stephanie Bishop
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of The Hours and Revolutionary Road, an astonishingly beautiful novel about marriage, motherhood, identity, nostalgia, and the fantasy of home, set in England, Australia, and India in the early 1960s"--
Summary
Cambridge 1963. Charlotte struggles to reconnect with the woman she was before children, and to find the time and energy to paint. Her husband, Henry, cannot face the thought of another English winter. A brochure slipped through the letterbox gives him the answer: 'Australia brings out the best in you'. Charlotte is too worn out to resist, and before she knows it is travelling to the other side of the world. But on their arrival in Perth, the southern sun shines a harsh light on both Henry and Charlotte and slowly reveals that their new life is not the answer either was hoping for. Charlotte is left wondering if there is anywhere she belongs, and how far she'll go to find her way home.
Storyline
Writing style
Character
Award
  • Australian Book Industry Awards, Literary Fiction Book of the Year, 2016.
  • Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction, 2015.
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10455498
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1979-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bishop, Stephanie
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9619.4.B557
LC item number
O84 2016
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Interracial marriage
  • Home
  • Identity (Psychology)
  • England
  • Australia
  • India
Target audience
adult
Label
The other side of the world, Stephanie Bishop
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
20813976
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria books hardcover edition.
Extent
240 pages
Isbn
9781501133121
Lccn
2015042117
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn928480975
  • (OCoLC)928480975
Label
The other side of the world, Stephanie Bishop
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
20813976
Dimensions
24 cm
Edition
First Atria books hardcover edition.
Extent
240 pages
Isbn
9781501133121
Lccn
2015042117
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (OCoLC)ocn928480975
  • (OCoLC)928480975

Library Locations

    • Culver-Union Township Public LibraryBorrow it
      107 N. Main St., Culver, IN, 46511, US
      41.216814 -86.42382

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...